Saturday, May 7, 2011

Rules and Regulations for Cricket Game and Equipment

Cricket is a very lively sport enjoyed by many. As such the game has evolved and spread all across the world like a virus. Every nation takes pride in winning the world cup for its country. In India the sport is followed pretty passionately that they consider few of their players to be Gods.

Cricket is played in two formats. One format is Test games and the other is One Day Internationals. Totally there are 10 test playing nations representing the international arena and they are England, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, West Indies, India, Srilanka, Pakistan, Bangladesh, and Zimbabwe. Only the above mentioned teams participate in test games and it is primarily because of the demands of test cricket and its competitiveness. Test games are played over 5 days with 3 sessions per day. 90 overs to be bowled in a day and each team play two innings respectively. Players play in whites clothing and a red ball is used which is changed after every 80 overs in an innings.

The team which scores more runs than their opponent carries those runs as lead runs into the 3rd inning. If the team batting second has a deficit of more than 200 runs than the first team which batted, the first team is allowed to make their opponents follow on thereby the team bats in the third innings instead of the 4th innings. There are no fielding restrictions in a test game and the captain of any side can place his fielders almost anywhere. A bowler is allowed to bowl 3 bouncers in an over. The game is considered to be drawn if the game goes into the 5th day and all of the 90 allotted overs are used eventually.

One day is a different game all together. Each side plays only 1 innings of 50 overs respectively. The teams play with a white colored cricket ball and colored clothing. The white ball is used since red balls are difficult to spot when played in colored clothing. In this format at world events such as the world cup, teams such as Netherlands, Ireland, Canada, USA, Bermuda, UAE, Scotland, Kenya, Afghanistan etc also take part.

The ODI games have the concept of fielding restrictions unlike the test games. 20 overs of power plays are used by both the sides with the first 10 overs of it being mandatory and the last 10 is divided equally among teams and they choose to take it whenever they want. As per the mandatory first 10 overs only 2 fielders are allowed outside the 30 yard circle. In batting and bowling Powerplays 3 fielders are allowed outside the 30 yard circle. During the remaining 30 overs at all times 4 fielders must be within the 30 yard circle and the remaining 5 can be placed anywhere along the boundaries.

An over stepping bouncer bowled by the bowler is dealt with a free hit where in the batsman cannot get out in the next ball. However, he can be run out while attempting for a run in that delivery. Only one bouncer is allowed per over in ODI’s.

No comments:

Post a Comment